Publisher's Summary

David Weber himself contributes three never-before-published excursions into Honor's world, among them the story of how she first discovered her own inner strength and courage; and a chapter in the history of the telepathic treecats, who form a bond with their chosen human that can only be severed by death. Roland Green, author of the Starcruiser Shenandoah series and the Peace Company series, delivers a hardhitting tale of conflict between Manticore and the People's Republic of Haven. Linda Evans, co-author of Time Scout, explores life with the treecats before Honor came. And Jane Lindskold, author of Brother to Dragons, Companion to Owls, tells how Honor's Queen, Elizabeth III, had to learn the hard way what monarchy was all about.
©1999 David M. Weber, Linda Evans, Jane Lindskold, Roland J. Green (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $43.45

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $43.45

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By ShySusan on 05-10-2012

A fairly good anthology overall

This is a collection of five short stories all set in David Weber's Honorverse. If you aren't already familiar with the Honorverse, this probably isn't the place to start. The best place to start would probably be with the first full-length novel in the series, "On Basilisk Station." I will review the stories individually:

"THE STRAY" by Linda Evans
This tells the stories of two treecats and their people. The main thrust of the story involves a stray treecat that shows up at a human home asking for help. The main helpers in the story turn out to be Dr. Scott MacDallan and his treecat, Fisher. The story of how Scott and Fisher met is told in flashback. I like this story quite well: 4 stars.

"WHAT PRICE DREAMS" by David Weber
This tells the story of a young treecat who wants to adopt a human. The title of the story relates to an analysis of what he will stand to gain AND lose if he does so. Quite good: 4 stars.

"QUEEN'S GAMBIT" by Jane Linskold
I didn't like this story. The king of Manticore is assassinated. The story revolves around the investigation of his murder and the consequences to the conspirators. I thought both were ludicrously unlikely. Imagine (or remember) the investigation around the assassination of the American President. FBI, CIA, Secret Service, special investigators, the Attorney General, thousands of law enforcement people would be involved. In this story, you have not the leader of a single country but the leader of three planets, and the investigation is carried out by the new queen's boyfriend and a semi-retired palace guard. Give me a break. I don't want to provide spoilers or I could go on at length. Also, I hated the ending. Anyway, I read some reviews on Amazon and some people liked it, so you might want to try it. My score: 2 stars.

"THE HARD WAY HOME" by David Weber
This is my favorite story in the collection. It involves a young Honor when she is the executive officer of a ship, and it introduces us to Susan Hibson as a teenager. In most Honorverse stories, the dangers come from other people and politics. In this one, nature is the bad guy. Insight into true heroism. I give it 5 stars.

"DECK LOAD STRIKE" by Roland J. Green
I first read this anthology several years ago, and in coming back to it on Audible, I had absolutely no recollection of this particular story, although I remembered the main plot points of all the other stories. In reading through reviews on Amazon, no one seemed to like this story, so I've chosen not to listen to it at this time. No review.

Read More Hide me

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 02-01-2013

short stories

This series World of Honor is only for those people who have read all the books in the Honor series. This series is a collection of short stories which act as a fill in of more detail of items mentioned in the main series. Such as telling how and why the Royal family obtain their tree cats. I enjoy the stories about the tree cats so I enjoyed the first group of stories in this book. I also enjoyed the story of Honor as a Lt Commander and her helping in the rescue of the victims of the avalanche. I am hooked on the Honor series so I grab at all books that provide more information about the world of Honor.

Read More Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews