The Golden Fool : Tawny Man

  • by Robin Hobb
  • Narrated by Nick Taylor
  • Series: Tawny Man
  • 25 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The second in the thrilling fantasy series returning listeners to the Six Duchies and the magical world of the Farseers, from the author of the best-selling Assassin’s Apprentice.
Fitz has succeeded in rescuing Prince Dutiful from the clutches of the Piebald rebels, and has returned with him to Buckkeep castle. With Dutiful safe again, Queen Kettricken can proceed with plans to marry him to the Outislander princess, Elliania, but with tensions building among the peoples of the Six Duchies over Kettricken’s tolerance of the Wittted, even Buckkeep is no longer safe.
A reluctant Fitz is assigned to protect the young prince, and also train him in the Skill, and in doing so he finally makes contact not only with his estranged daughter, Nettle, but with someone in Buckkeep who may possess a greater Skill talent than Fitz. And who may represent a terrible threat to the Farseers.
Meanwhile, Elliania arrives, and before she will accept Prince Dutiful’s betrothal challenges him to undertake an impossible quest. He must kill a legendary Outislander dragon.


What the Critics Say

“Hobb is a remarkable storyteller.” (Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story, terrible narration Part 2

Any additional comments?

I'm not commenting about the story, as I don't wish to ruin it for anyone, however I will say it's another trilogy well worth the read/listen. Unfortunately, the change in narrator from the Assassins Apprentice (Farseer Trilogy) almost ruined it completely for me. I'm dreading the next series after this :'(

Read full review

- Mr. Peter J. Wilcock

Solid middle

I really enjoy Nick's performance but the editing is terrible.

Its a good development of the story but not as climatic as the first in the series. It felt like it was building towards the final instalment.
Read full review

- Matthew

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-02-2013
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited