The Chronicles of Pern : Pern Novels - Published Order

  • by Anne McCaffrey
  • Narrated by Meredith MacRae
  • Series: Pern Novels - Published Order
  • 9 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Travel back to the earliest days of Pernese history in this first-ever Dragonriders of Pern short story collection. Join the original survey team as they explore Pern and decide to recommend it for colonization. Share the terror of the evacuation from the Southern Continent as a flotilla of ships, aided by intelligent, talking dolphins, braves the currents of the Pernese ocean. Learn how the famous Ruatha Hold was founded, and thrill with the dragonriders as they expand into a second, then a third Weyr. And discover a secret lost in time - the rescue of some of the original colonists before the planet was cut off forever. Building a new life on a distant world, braving the dreaded Thread that falls like silver rain from the sky only to destroy every living thing it touches, flying heroically on the wondrous dragons - The Dragonriders of Pern!
Anne McCaffrey suggests The Chronicles of Pern should be followed by The Dolphins of Pern.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


The book was incomplete and repeated the first 13 chapters to fill the 24 chapters. Not at all how I remember the original book. Very sad and disappointed.
Read full review

- Kerrie Challenger

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-11-2002
  • Publisher: Phoenix Books