Master of Formalities

  • by Scott Meyer
  • Narrated by Luke Daniels
  • 14 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Even when finding oneself engaged in interstellar war, good form must be observed. Our story is set thousands of years after the Terran Exodus, where two powerful, planet-dominating families - the elegant House Jakabitus and the less refined Hahn Empire - have reached a critical point in their generations-long war. Master Hennik, the Hahn ruler's only son, has been captured, and the disposition of his internment may represent a last and welcome chance for peace.
Enter Wollard, the impeccably distinguished and impossibly correct Master of Formalities for House Jakabitus. When he suggests that Master Hennik be taken in as a ward of the House, certain complications arise. Wollard believes utterly and devotedly in adhering to rules and good etiquette. But how does one inform the ruler of a planet that you are claiming his son as your own - and still create enough goodwill to deescalate an intergalactic war?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By far Scott Meyers best

This book has a lot more depth that the Magic 2.0 series. The characters and story of this book and The Authorities are much more entertaining and developed than those in the Magic 2.0 series (and they've had 3 books). This was great, get it.
Read full review

- Stewart

Another great Scott Meyer book

If you could sum up Master of Formalities in three words, what would they be?

Witty, smart, entertaining

What other book might you compare Master of Formalities to, and why?

ranks alongside the 'Off to be the wizard' trilogy.

What about Luke Daniels’s performance did you like?

Great narration by Luke Daniels, there were often times when you thought someone else was doing a new character voice.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Meyer certainly gets you to care for the characters and frustration builds as things don't start to go their way.

Read full review

- Christo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-07-2015
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio