Publisher's Summary

Camden, North London: A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads, and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.
In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.
Fated is the first book in a major new series starring probability mage Alex Verus, for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.
©2012 Benedict Jacka (P)2013 Tantor Media Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place" (Jim Butcher)
"Filled with tense and compelling writing" ( SFX)
"Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world." (Patricia Briggs)
"London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable" ( Sun)
"Fated is an excellent example of not just great urban fantasy but also of brilliant story-telling. There is a near perfect mix of everything and it has been masterfully crafted with a meticulous eye for those pieces of humanity that make a great protagonist and a fantastic story" ( FANTASY FACTION)
"A novel with a very good plotline, and fascinating characters" ( BOOKCHICKCITY)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $28.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Readalot on 19-03-2018

Good Solid Story

I enjoyed Fated. It's a good solid story with some action, character and a good (if somewhat too measured IMO) narration. I was looking for something similar to Rivers of London, but that was silly of me. Same genre... not the same tone.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 21-11-2017

Loved it but....

Absolutely loved Alex, Luna and Starbreeze. The story was fast paced from the first chapter.

Hated the pompous narrator who reminded me of those voices that did documentrys in the 70's.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By lynn on 15-01-2015

Excellent gritty fantasy

I came across this book/reading by accident on the audible website and I thoroughly enjoyed the audiobook. I enjoyed the nature of the main character who deals with magic without the endless psychological self examination of Harry Dresden. Whilst there are a number of books in this genre I thought the author showed a great imagination in creating and populating his alternate world. I thought there were elements of Neil Gaimans Neverwherein the book. I also enjoyed the world weary voice of the presenter, I think he gave Alex Verus a complex personality which suited the text. Good audiobook.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Darren Kelk on 31-01-2018

Well that was a great first book in a series.

Would you listen to Fated again? Why?

I am coming back to this series and this book again. tore through this book and grab the next one. I am sure I miss bit of coolness in the overall awesome.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Alex is the focus and at this point it must be him. Luna has promise and I wonder where that will go.

Which scene was your favorite?

The fight on the roof. So elegant in writing.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes and I did.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Tod Werewolf on 25-04-2016

Better than I expected

very well written and well read. I was pleasantly surprised by how good a story it was after reading some of the reviews. while not being as London has the Rivers of London and as funny like the Iron Druid and Dresden Files. A very good book, will try the others in the series.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By nicole on 25-11-2014

Hope Audible gets the rest of this series :)

Pros: great story, brilliantly written, lots of imagination, made me want to listen to the whole thing in one sitting, Patricia Briggs and Jim Butcher rec this one, I'd listen to it again and have requested the series which I'm told gets even better also, unusually for this kind of genre, there are several really well written female side characters. Cons I spent the first twenty minutes in complete frustration because the initial plot feels like a massive rip off of the Dresden Files (it soon moves away from that, keep listening as the seer aspect is really interesting) and that also led to the comparison of the narrator with James Masters and really the best you can hope for is a draw with that kind of competition. After I'd listened for a while I decided that I really liked Gilbert Jackson. I would happily buy books with Jackson as a narrator again but you need to listen to a sample for yourself as some people were very unhappy.

Read More Hide me

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews