Fated : Alex Verus

  • by Benedict Jacka
  • Narrated by Gildart Jackson
  • Series: Alex Verus
  • 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Camden, North London: A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads, and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.
In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.
Fated is the first book in a major new series starring probability mage Alex Verus, for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

More

What the Critics Say

"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place" (Jim Butcher)
"Filled with tense and compelling writing" (SFX)
"Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world." (Patricia Briggs)
"London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable" (Sun)
"Fated is an excellent example of not just great urban fantasy but also of brilliant story-telling. There is a near perfect mix of everything and it has been masterfully crafted with a meticulous eye for those pieces of humanity that make a great protagonist and a fantastic story" (FANTASY FACTION)
"A novel with a very good plotline, and fascinating characters" (BOOKCHICKCITY)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Promising but...

Interesting listen, but I struggled to get into it. I disliked the narrator's female voices, and I found Alex to be aloof and unsympathetic. Normally I love a hero with a hint of moral ambiguity and maybe he'd grow on me in later books, but I'm bowing out for now.
Read full review

- Karen

Main character is kind of rapey

At first I was a bit put off when I realised that when the story referred to a girl, it wasn't actually a child but rather a 22 year-old woman. But then things move beyond casual sexism to kind of creepy. Like when the main character decides that he has to assault and abduct a woman (sorry I mean 22 year old girl) because she's too stupid to know what's good for her. Besides being rapey, the main character is not exactly likeable so far, he has an unfortunate combination of feeling constantly hard done by while always needing to be right. The book so far kind of feels like a conversation with some pompous prat in a pub who tries to pick you up by lecturing you about the finer points of Deleuze. Not sure I can make it through.
Read full review

- Kate McMahon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-09-2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK