Every Heart a Doorway : Wayward Children

  • by Seanan McGuire
  • Narrated by Cynthia Hopkins
  • Series: Wayward Children
  • 4 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children No Solicitations No Visitors No Quests
Children have always disappeared under the right conditions - slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere...else. But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.
Nancy tumbled once, but now she's back. The things she's experienced...they change a person. The children under Miss West's care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world. But Nancy's arrival marks a change at the home. There's a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it's up to Nancy and her newfound schoolmates to get to the heart of things. No matter the cost.


What the Critics Say

"Seanan McGuire has long been one of the smartest writers around, and with this novella we can easily see that her heart is as big as her brain. We know this story isn't true, but it is truth." [Charlaine Harris, New York Times best-selling author of the Sookie Stackhouse series (TV's True Blood)]


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautiful but fell flat.

The concept was fascinating and I was hooked from the first chapter. Unfortunately I found the plot in the second half rushed, as if the author had a word limit and needed to get all the mystery out in a few pages. The clumsy pacing destroyed all it had built up in the first section of the book: character development, relationships, intrigue. Overall I found the most of the book disappointing. I wish the author spent more time exploring the possibilities the books concept opened up.

Futher, without taking the time to tease out the topics of gender and sexuality, certain character traits felt forced. It was as if the author threw them in there because they wanted to make a statement, but couldn't be bothered to write anything meaningful.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-04-2016
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio