Publisher's Summary

An unabridged reading of the brand-new novel based on a storyline by Douglas Adams.
The Doctor promised Romana the end of the universe, so she's less than impressed when what she gets is a cricket match. But then the award ceremony is interrupted by 11 figures in white uniforms and peaked skull helmets wielding bat-shaped weapons that fire lethal bolts of light into the screaming crowd. The Krikkitmen are back.
Millions of years ago, the people of Krikkit learned they were not alone in the universe and promptly launched a xenophobic crusade to wipe out all other lifeforms. After a long and bloody conflict, the Time Lords imprisoned Krikkit within an envelope of Slow Time, a prison that could be opened only with the Wicket Gate key, a device that resembles - to human eyes, at least - an oversized set of cricket stumps....
From Earth to Gallifrey, from Bethselamin to Devalin, from Krikkit to Mareeve II to the far edge of infinity, the Doctor and Romana are tugged into a pan-galactic conga with fate as they rush to stop the Krikkitmen gaining all five pieces of the key. If they fail, the entire cosmos faces a fiery retribution that will leave nothing but ashes....
©2018 BBC Worldwide Ltd (P)2018 BBC Worldwide Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $31.21

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.21

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jen on 24-01-2018

Absolutely brilliant.

If you’re a diehard Whovian (particularly for No.4) and have a penchant for all things Douglas Adams, you’ll LOVE this book. Written before Hitchhikers so you’ll see bits he’s taken from this and used in the series. And it goes without saying that Dan Starkey portrays the Doctor beautifully. Didn’t want it to end.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Anthony Pirtle on 19-01-2018

Life, the Universe, and the Doctor

Anyone whose read Adams' third Hitchhiker novel will recognize this story, since it's basically that story, only longer, slightly less funny, significantly more interesting, and featuring a different bunch of heroes, namely the Doctor, Romana II, and K9. I always thought Life, the Universe, and Everything stuck out from Adams other books as being a more straightforward adventure than the rest of the Hitchhiker novels. It makes sense, then, that it was originally a Doctor Who story. That said, this is not at all as straightforward as most Who adventures, but it is a great read nonetheless.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mr. Sam on 21-05-2018

Great story!

Over the course of his days as a script editor for the Doctor Who TV series during the 4th Doctor's Era, Douglas Adams personally wrote four stories for the Doctor. Two stories, The Pirate Planet and City Of Death, were broadcast as intended. The third story, Shada, gained a reputation as a notorious lost entry in the series. It never originally aired as intended, due to a union strike that haulted production halfway through filming. It has been revisited in various ways since then. However there is an often overlooked fourth story that most people forget about. Adams pitched it multiple times, but at the time it was rejected as being "too silly". He eventually reworked the material into what would have been a continuation of the Hitchhiker TV series, but it finally found a home in the third Hitchhiker novel: Life, The Universe, and Everything. This novel was later adapted wonderfully to radio by the great Dirk Maggs, but it has always remained a Hitchhiker story despite its origins. Until now. This novel pits the Krikkitmen against their originally intended advisory, the 4th Doctor. If you are a fan of Douglas Adams and/or the 4th Doctor, than this is a must buy, wonderfully complimenting the three other novels based on his stories.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Alistair on 27-01-2018

Douglas Adams's original concept given form!

Would you listen to Doctor Who and the Krikkitmen again? Why?

I certainly would listen to this again. It is absolutely hilarious. It is based on the same concept as the third series of Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy as Doctor Who and the Krikkitmen was the original concept albeit fleshed out in some ways by the also hilarious James Goss. I couldn't possibly recommend this more highly. If you are a fan of Adams or Goss BUY THIS BOOK!

What did you like best about this story?

Regarding the story I loved some of the planets they visited. Bethselamin - a planet with practically no concept of negativity or evil was especially hysterical - as well as Mareeve II. On top of this The Doctor and Romana are characterised especially well along with some other characters later in the book. Almost every line makes me want to burst into laughter just remembering it.

Have you listened to any of Dan Starkey’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I have listened to one of Dan Starkey's other performances as a narrator - Doctor Who: Devil In The Smoke which I also recommend - and I think his narration here is superior. It is superbly done. He has the perfect tone of voice for all the characters which allows the jokes to hit so well. Regardless of if he is supposed to sound like an unusually flipppant.travel guidebook, an unnervingly jovial or deadly serious alien traveller or the world's most arrogantly officious bureaucrat he pulls it off magnificently. I'll keep an ear out for any future audio books he narrates.

Any additional comments?

I give this audiobook my highest possible recommendation especially for fans of Doctor Who, Douglas Adams or James Goss. Grab it as soon as you can!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 18-02-2018

Fantastic! Douglas would be rightly proud.

A brilliant adaptation that captures the wit and conceptual genius of the much missed Mr Adams. Dan Starkey's narration is sublime. Not only does he deliver the Doctor's lines with intonations that will have John Culshaw revising his pension options his other characterisations hold many a gem; I don't know if Douglas had envisaged the Great Khan to be portrayed by Brian Blessed, but if he had not been available, Dan could have covered without anyone noticing.

Anyone who has already experienced the kernel of this story in either of it's previous regenerations; Adams novel "Life, the Universe and Everything", or it's equally well realised radio adaptation need not disregard this with epithets regarding places already visited, tasks undertaken and shortsleeved tops purchased. This, as with it's similarly recycled stablemate, Shada, has plenty of new content to tickle one's synapses.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews