The Story of Philosophy

  • by Will Durant
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • 19 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The product of 11 years of research, The Story of Philosophy is an endlessly inspiring and instructive chronicle of the world’s greatest thinkers, from Socrates to Santayana. Written with exacting and scrupulous scholarship, it was designed both to command the respect of educators and to capture the interest of the layman.
Durant lucidly describes the philosophical systems of such world-famous “monarchs of the mind” as Plato, Aristotle, Francis Bacon, Spinoza, Kant, Voltaire, and Nietzsche. Along with their ideas, he offers their flesh-and-blood biographies, placing their thoughts within their own time and place and elucidating their influence on our modern intellectual heritage. This book is packed with wisdom and wit.
Will Durant (1885-1981) was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and the Presidential Medal of Freedom. He spent over 50 years writing his critically acclaimed 11-volume series The Story of Civilization. A champion of human-rights issues such as social reform and the brotherhood of man long before they were popular, he continues to educate and entertain readers and listeners worldwide through his writings.


What the Critics Say

“A delight.” ( New York Times)
“Easily the most engaging writer of Western intellectual history in the English language, Will Durant breathes life into philosophers and their ideas. He is colorful, witty, and above all, informative.” ( review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I am now, finally, fascinated by philosophy.

I loved this audiobook. It is obviously a well-written piece to begin with, and the narration was spot-on.

I am now, finally, fascinated by philosophy, and will continue to pursue the subject happily and eagerly thanks to the foundation and motivation this book has provided.
Read full review

- James

Fantastic Introduction To Philosophy

The read kept me intrigued and entertained for the entire 39 hours! Well worth it
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-09-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.