Publisher's Summary

Recently divorced and trying to make sense of her new life, Anne takes her daughter, Aida, on an overnight bushwalk in the moody wilderness of Wilsons Promontory. In a split second, Aida disappears, and a frantic Anne scrambles for help. Some of the emergency trackers who search for Aida already doubt Anne's story.
Nearly two years later and still tormented by remorse and grief, Anne is charged with her daughter's murder. Witnesses have come forward offering evidence which points to her guilt. She is stalked by the media and shunned by friends, former colleagues and neighbours. On bail and awaiting trial, Anne works to reconstruct her last hours with Aida. She remembers the sun high in the sky, the bush noisy with insects, and her own anxiety, as oppressive as the heat haze.
A superbly written and conceived literary work about the best and the worst aspects of family life, this story asks difficult questions about society, the media, and our rush to judgment.
This is a thoughtful, provocative and unflinching novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Joan London and Charlotte Wood.
©2016 Olga Lorenzo (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $29.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Dr. Alison M. Harman on 13-08-2016

Intriguing, richly descriptive Aussie story

I found this book very easy to listen to. Reader had nice voice and read really well. It kept me interested all the way through. A strength of the book was the illustration, 'show not tell' as my English teacher used to say. The writer had many insights into various circumstances so must have done a lot of research or experienced any things herself. The actual story was not extensive and came out in bits throughout but this was made up for by the richness of descriptions.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Sharlene on 23-02-2017

Can't rate ...

What happened to Ada?? I am seriously frustrated by the lack of closure?!? I want to give this all one stars but I read to the end so there must be something good about it ... argh, frustrating :(

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews