• The Hawley Book of the Dead

  • A Novel
  • By: Chrysler Szarlan
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
  • Length: 14 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 23-09-2014
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Studios
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.5 (2 ratings)

Editorial Reviews

Editors Select, September 2014 - I have a feeling I’m going to be a fan of Chrysler Szarlan for a long time The Hawley Book of the Dead grabbed hold of me within the first few pages, as it started - quite literally - with a bang. Reve Dyer and her daughters are forced to disappear from their Las Vegas home by the heart-wrenching and eerie circumstances surrounding her husband’s murder. They move to Hawley Five Corners - her ancestors’ estate outside of Boston - in an effort to evade the killer that is stalking their family. Cassandra Campbell brings the suspense, romance, and magic of Szarlan’s words to life, creating a world worth re-visiting over and over. —Katie, Audible Editor
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic.
Revelation "Reve" Dyer grew up with her grandmother’s family stories, stretching back centuries to Reve’s ancestors, who founded the town of Hawley Five Corners, Massachusetts. Their history is steeped in secrets, for few outsiders know that an ancient magic runs in the Dyer women’s blood, and that Reve is a magician whose powers are all too real.
Reve and her husband are world-famous Las Vegas illusionists. They have three lovely young daughters, a beautiful home, and what seems like a charmed life. But Reve’s world is shattered when an intruder alters her trick pistol and she accidentally shoots and kills her beloved husband onstage.
Fearing for her daughters’ lives, Reve flees with them to the place she has always felt safest - an antiquated farmhouse in the forest of Hawley Five Corners, where the magic of her ancestors reigns, and her oldest friend - and first love - is the town’s chief of police. Here, in the forest, with its undeniable air of enchantment, Reve hopes she and her girls will be protected.
Delving into the past for answers, Reve is drawn deeper into her family’s legends. What she discovers is The Hawley Book of the Dead, an ancient leather-bound journal holding mysterious mythic power. As she pieces together the truth behind the book, Reve will have to shield herself and her daughters against an uncertain, increasingly dangerous fate. For soon it becomes clear that the stranger who upended Reve’s life in Las Vegas has followed her to Hawley - and that she has something he desperately wants.
Brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic, The Hawley Book of the Dead is a brilliantly imagined debut novel from a riveting new voice.
©2014 Chrysler Szarlan (P)2014 Audible Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $36.54

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $36.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Ellenaeddy on 09-12-2014

Nice generational witch tale

Not great literature, but nicely done and fun to boot. The romance isn't icky. The villains are interesting and the reveal is very intriguing. The title has almost nothing to do with the plot, but it doesn't matter to the story.

Read More Hide me

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Andrea on 01-10-2014

It sounded like something I could really love.....

I wanted to like this book. I really did. Everything about it sounded awesome. But somehow maybe a third of the way in I started to feel dread about continuing the book. That is never a good sign for me. It has elements of things I absolutely love in a book and yet somehow I was bored. The narrator was excellent. Spellbinding, really. But the actual book seemed like there was no payoff. I just kept waiting for it to get good and that never happened. Some of the explanations about why the Fetch was after them didn't really make sense, why he was being compelled seemed like a weak reason, etc. There seemed to be long stretches of nothing happening, then a snippet of "now this guy appears and this is the reason"....then boring stretch and then " and now this guy is here because of this weak reason"...now boring stretch and on and on and on. I felt like it was 400 hours long and would never end and then suddenly it ended. And not very satisfyingly. I could have cared less at that point. I was just glad it was over.

The characters in the book had such potential to be interesting but in the end I only knew some little bits about each person and didn't really care about any of them.

Read More Hide me

31 of 35 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews