The Courage Tree

  • by Diane Chamberlain
  • Narrated by Ann Marie Lee
  • 13 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Eight-year-old Sophie Donohue just wanted to be like every other little girl. Which is why her mother, Janine, reluctantly agreed to let her go on the weekend camping trip with her Brownie troop. But when Janine arrives to pick up Sophie after the trip, her daughter is not with the others. Somehow, along the forested route from West Virginia, Sophie has disappeared.
Sophie is no ordinary eight-year-old. She suffers from a rare disease, and Janine has recently enrolled her in an experimental treatment as a last effort to save her life - despite the vehement objections of her ex-husband, Joe. Without her medication, Sophie cannot survive long. All her mother's instincts tell Janine that Sophie is alive, but time is running out.

More

What the Critics Say

"Well-drawn characters and an unexpected and riveting plot make this a memorable thriller in the tradition of Joy Fielding and Mary Higgins Clark." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Diane Chamberlain is a great story writer

This book takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions. It's about a 8 year old girl that goes missing after a brownie camp. But she is sick. She has to be found before she dies. You will not be able to stop listening to the end. 5 stars for me. This is my first Diane Chamberlain book and I will be listening to more of her books. Thanks Audible.
Read full review

- audibleJames

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-11-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio