Publisher's Summary

Eight-year-old Sophie Donohue just wanted to be like every other little girl. Which is why her mother, Janine, reluctantly agreed to let her go on the weekend camping trip with her Brownie troop. But when Janine arrives to pick up Sophie after the trip, her daughter is not with the others. Somehow, along the forested route from West Virginia, Sophie has disappeared.
Sophie is no ordinary eight-year-old. She suffers from a rare disease, and Janine has recently enrolled her in an experimental treatment as a last effort to save her life - despite the vehement objections of her ex-husband, Joe. Without her medication, Sophie cannot survive long. All her mother's instincts tell Janine that Sophie is alive, but time is running out.
©2001 Diane Chamberlain (P)2015 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Well-drawn characters and an unexpected and riveting plot make this a memorable thriller in the tradition of Joy Fielding and Mary Higgins Clark." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $41.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $41.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By audibleJames on 28-06-2016

Diane Chamberlain is a great story writer

This book takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions. It's about a 8 year old girl that goes missing after a brownie camp. But she is sick. She has to be found before she dies. You will not be able to stop listening to the end. 5 stars for me. This is my first Diane Chamberlain book and I will be listening to more of her books. Thanks Audible.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Yikes on 29-06-2016

Enjoyable

Not quite edge of your seat material but suspenseful at times. There were a few interesting twists but most were predictable. At one point I thought the story was headed in a different direction and was a little disappointed when that wasn't the case - it would have rated 5 stars if the camp councillor had played a bigger part in the disappearance! Overall, quite similar to a Danielle Steele without the time gaps - the whole story plays out within a month.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Gretchen Cheak on 24-04-2018

My Favorite Chamberlain!

I have listened to MANY of Diane Chamberlain's books and this is by far my favorite. Sometimes her writing can be a tiny bit predictable. I didn't find this book predictable in the least. I highly recommend this book!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jennifer MacIver on 10-03-2017

Loved this book.

Would you consider the audio edition of The Courage Tree to be better than the print version?

As I am unable to read the printed version, I don't know.

What did you like best about this story?

Kept my interest throughout.

What about Ann Marie Lee’s performance did you like?

It was beautifully read

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews