• by Gregory David Roberts
  • Narrated by Humphrey Bower
  • 42 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A novel of high adventure, great storytelling and moral purpose, based on an extraordinary true story of eight years in the Bombay underworld.
In the early 80s, Gregory David Roberts, an armed robber and heroin addict, escaped from an Australian prison to India, where he lived in a Bombay slum. There, he established a free health clinic and also joined the mafia, working as a money launderer, forger and street soldier. He found time to learn Hindi and Marathi, fall in love, and spend time being worked over in an Indian jail. Then, in case anyone thought he was slacking, he acted in Bollywood and fought with the Mujahedeen in Afghanistan...
Amazingly, Roberts wrote Shantaram three times after prison guards trashed the first two versions. It's a profound tribute to his willpower...


What the Critics Say

"Extraordinary vivid...a gigantic, jaw-dropping, grittily authentic saga." (Daily Mail)
"Powerful and original...a remarkable achievement." (Sunday Telegraph)
"Vivid and compassionate...impressive." (Guardian)
"A publishing phenomenon." (Sunday Times)


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Book

I think this was one of the best books I have ever read and the narrater was excellient and the book made me laugh and it made me cry and I was sorry when it was finished
Read full review

- Julia

What a tale of courage and adventure!

India is one of my favourite countries and I loved this book from the very first chapter where he described the sights, sounds and smells of Bombay - I felt I was there. I am not quite at the end of the book - hate getting to the end of a fascinating story, so am slowly savouring the last few chapters. Wonderful book
Read full review

- christine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-06-2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK