• The Prime Minister's Secret Agent

  • A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 4
  • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
  • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
  • Series: Maggie Hope, Book 4
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 01-07-2014
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Random House Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.7 (6 ratings)

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.
World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow - including one of Maggie's dearest friends - Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war - and indelibly shape Maggie's fate.
©2014 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2014 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $40.62

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $40.62

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Donna on 09-05-2018

A little empty

Having read all the previous books I found this one a little empty as if it was a fill up between two good stories.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Margaret Vance on 06-07-2014

The narration spoils the book

What made the experience of listening to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent the most enjoyable?

The series is interesting and the time period and history described makes for a good read.

Would you be willing to try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal? Why or why not?

I like the author but some else needs to narrate.

What didn’t you like about Susan Duerden’s performance?

Her cadence and breathy deliver is hard to listen to. There are emphasis where there shouldn't be and her raspy whispery voice is annoying.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No

Read More Hide me

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Bravo Zulu 1775 on 14-09-2017

GET IT RIGHT!!!!

There were several goofs in this book including name mix-ups. But the one inexcusable error was referring to a sailor as a "private"!! Insulting. If you are going to write a book about war and the military at least get the ranks and ratings correct!!!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Alison Edie on 17-01-2018

Don't enjoy listening to this person's voice

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I would have enjoyed a dramatised version of this book - I LOVE the stories but the person chosen to read this book has a very monotone voice which I can't listen to.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I love so many; I can't pick just one.

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

Jenna Coleman - I think she would have done an amazing job

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment; I've been looking for the hard copy of this book for AGES but unable to find it so thought I'd get the audio version. Didn't enjoy the narration at all.

Any additional comments?

How do I return it?

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews