The Hong Kong Stories : Beatrix Rose

  • by Mark Dawson
  • Narrated by Jane Slavin
  • Series: Beatrix Rose
  • 7 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Beatrix Rose has been betrayed. Her husband has been murdered and her daughter, Isabella, abducted. She flees to the Hong Kong underworld to plot her revenge. Those who wronged her will pay. Beatrix is the most dangerous woman you’ve ever met. She was an assassin for The Firm, the beyond top secret agency that did the dirty work for the British Secret Services. She is lethal. Ethically flexible. Totally ruthless. And you know what they say about payback....
Beatrix needs cash to pay for the search for Isabella. When she rescues a local man from a brutal beating in a Kowloon karaoke bar, she ends up finding moneymaking opportunities in the local underworld. The triads have a need for a woman with her particular skills, but when the boss goes too far, he has to pay the price. In a breakneck-paced roller coaster of action, Beatrix discovers that danger lurks in the unlikeliest of places, and nothing is as it seems.
Mark Dawson has worked as a lawyer and currently works in the London film industry. His first books, The Art of Falling Apart and Subpoena Colada, have been published in multiple languages. He is currently writing three series. The John Milton series features a disgruntled assassin who aims to help people to make amends for the things that he has done. The Beatrix Rose series features the headlong fight for justice of a wronged mother - who happens to be an assassin - against the six names on her kill list.
Soho Noir is set in the West End of London between 1940 and 1970. The first book in the series, The Black Mile, deals with the (real-life but little known) serial killer who operated in the area during the Blitz. The Imposter traces the journey of a criminal family through the period; it has been compared to The Sopranos in austerity London.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Betrayed, wronged and desperate, watch out!

An excellent story that initially creeps up on you and then non stop action. Beatrice is definitely not a lady to be messed with but her rescuer seems not to recognise this.

I really enjoyed the story. The narrator is very enjoyable.

I am a little disappointed that the next books in the series offer less than 6 hours listening each. Come on an 8-10 hour listen should be the minimum.

This is only because I enjoyed the listen and in many ways did not want it to end.

For now back to John Milton!!!

Read full review

- Grahame

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-12-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios