The Cheapside Corpse : Thomas Chaloner

  • by Susanna Gregory
  • Narrated by Gordon Griffin
  • Series: Thomas Chaloner
  • 14 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

London in the spring of 1665 is a city full of fear. There is plague in the stews of St Giles, the Dutch fleet is preparing to invade, and a banking crisis threatens to leave Charles II's government with no means of paying for the nation's defence. Amid the tension, Thomas Chaloner is ordered to investigate the murder of Dick Wheler, one of the few goldsmith-bankers to have survived the losses that have driven others to bankruptcy - or worse. At the same time, a French spy staggers across the city, carrying the plague from one parish to another.
Chaloner's foray into the world of the financiers who live in and around Cheapside quickly convinces him that they are just as great a threat as the Dutch, but their power and greed thwart him at every turn. Meanwhile, the plague continues to spread across the city, and the body count from the disease and from the fever of avarice starts to rise alarmingly...


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Overall a good book/series

Would you consider the audio edition of The Cheapside Corpse to be better than the print version?

Can't say as never read this in hard copy.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cheapside Corpse?

Most memorable of all of the series is the historical accuracy. One of my own distant ancestors turned up and the author had him down pat. Nasty piece of work, that one.

Have you listened to any of Gordon Griffin’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I have, and he is very good at the narration.

Any additional comments?

What stands out the most for me is how our hero seems to get slower (read stupider) with each case. However, this can be easily explained by the number of times the poor bloke has been hit in the head. At the rate poor Chaloner keeps getting clobbered, I expect the series to end with him a drooling idiot.

Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK