The Affair : Jack Reacher

  • by Lee Child
  • Narrated by Jeff Harding
  • Series: Jack Reacher
  • 12 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

March 1997. A woman has her throat cut behind a bar in Carter Crossing, Mississippi. Just down the road is a big army base.Is the murderer a local guy - or is he a soldier?Jack Reacher, still a major in the military police, is sent in undercover.
The county sheriff is a former U.S. Marine - and a stunningly beautiful woman. Her investigation is going nowhere. Is the Pentagon stonewalling her? Or doesn't she really want to find the killer?
The adrenaline-pumping, high-voltage action in The Affair is set just six months before the opening of Killing Floor, and it marks a turning point in Reacher's career. If he does what the army wants, will he be able to live with himself? And if he doesn't, will the army be able to live with him? Is this his last case in uniform?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good, then awkward, then too long

This was a good book, but it probably could have had about 2 hours cut off it. Also, given the narrator sounds like a 50+ year old man, it was awkward when it got to a sex scene and this old bloke is saying "long and slow, long and slow, looonnggg aannddd ssslllloooowwww...".
Read full review


Very titalating.

Would you consider the audio edition of The Affair to be better than the print version?

The reader Jeff Harding is superb and he reads the book like he wrote it himself - Jeff Hardings voice is Jack Reacher.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Affair?

Yes - it certainly did not disappoint on any level.

Which character – as performed by Jeff Harding – was your favourite?

Jack Reacher for sure.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Don't make a movie - it could not do it justice and although Tom Cruise did the best he could in the one movie made - he is too short and as humorous as Tom Cruise is a movie could not possibly capture the massive amount of subtle humour.

Any additional comments?

Only 4 more to go - what will I do when I have finished the series?

Read full review

- Rachael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-11-2011
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks