In the Morning I'll Be Gone : Detective Sean Duffy Series

  • by Adrian McKinty
  • Narrated by Gerard Doyle
  • Series: Detective Sean Duffy Series
  • 9 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the 2014 Ned Kelly Award and a 2015 Audie Award nominee for best mystery
A Catholic cop tracks an IRA master bomber amidst the sectarian violence of the conflict in Northern Ireland
It's the early 1980s in Belfast. Sean Duffy, a conflicted Catholic cop in the Protestant RUC (Royal Ulster Constabulary), is recruited by MI5 to hunt down Dermot McCann, an IRA master bomber who has made a daring escape from the notorious Maze prison. In the course of his investigations Sean discovers a woman who may hold the key to Dermot's whereabouts; she herself wants justice for her daughter who died in mysterious circumstances in a pub locked from the inside. Sean knows that if he can crack the "locked-room mystery", the bigger mystery of Dermot's whereabouts might be revealed to him as a reward. Meanwhile the clock is ticking down to the Conservative Party conference in Brighton in 1984, where Mrs. Thatcher is due to give a keynote speech.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ripping yarn

I've read the previous two Sean Duffy books in print and I found that listening to the book narrated in an Irish accent added atmosphere to the story. Although occasionally during conversations I had trouble distinguishing between different characters, overall Gerard Doyle's rather deadpan delivery perfectly captured Duffy's weariness and dogged nature.

The story is gripping, with a locked room mystery at its centre and a sense of increasing tension as the climax approaches. I like the way Adrian McKinty weaves his fictional plot around real historical characters and events. And the writing is superbly incisive, with moments of poetic description, profound insight and dry wit.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will continue with the series.

Read full review

- oceanjasper

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-03-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.