Publisher's Summary

You can't bury the truth forever....
Derbyshire, January 1978. Two girls go missing: Rachel Jones returns, Sophie Jenkins is never found.
Thirty years later, Sophie Jenkins' mother commits suicide. Rachel Jones has tried to put the past behind her. But news of the suicide reopens old wounds, and Rachel realises that the only way she can have a future is to finally discover what really happened all those years ago.
This is a story about loss and family secrets and how often the very darkest secrets are those that are closest to you.
©2015 Sarah Ward (P)2015 W F Howes Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Deserves to be one of the standout debuts of 2015." (William Ryan)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $32.62

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $32.62

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By MRS V L HALL on 18-03-2016

The Secrets That Won't Stay Buried - Gripping!

What made the experience of listening to In Bitter Chill the most enjoyable?

Firstly, the storyline was very well constructed and involved a cold case review of the disappearance of two schoolchildren in 1978. Exceptional plotting, numerous twists and characters who are believable. This is the kind of incident that could happen in any village or town and is sensitively portrayed and well paced.

Secondly the narrator did a superb job and must be given credit. She gave an impassioned delivery of the novel and I really did get the feeling she was involved and interested. The narrator brought the village and characters of Bampton alive! From the elderly folk in the village to the police team, she found the perfect voice and her distinction between characters was excellent.

Who was your favorite character and why?

DI Francis Sadler headed up the cold case review for the police as is a fascinating character who I long to see reappear in future novels. Slightly reticent and staid, he is a thoughtful man who commands his team well and the undercurrent of tension with DC Connie Childs is authentic. I would love to see this police team return in future novels.

Which character – as performed by Juanita McMahon – was your favourite?

Juanita McMahon did a thoroughly superb job with all of the characters, but DI Sadler came across as a good man who cared about the girl who was returned and his understanding of her fragility was well conveyed.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

In Bitter Chill was very thought provoking as this is a scenario which is plausible and could happen to any of us, anywhere in the country. At the time it would have been harrowing for Rachel Jones and never totally unravelled it has remained with all of the locals.

Any additional comments?

The narration and the gripping storyline make this an involving listen and I will look out for Juanita McMahon again.

Read More Hide me

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Chris on 04-10-2016

Very good

This was very good, there were a lot of twists and turns, and every time the police found something new, I tried to guess what the end would be, and I was always wrong. Well written, and very good listening

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews