How the Light Gets In : Chief Inspector Gamache

  • by Louise Penny
  • Narrated by Adam Sims
  • Series: Chief Inspector Gamache
  • 14 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The number-one New York Times best seller.
A detective. As a fierce, unrelenting winter grips Quebec, shadows are closing in on Chief Inspector Armand Gamache. Most of his best agents have left the Homicide Department and hostile forces are lining up against him.
A disappearance. When Gamache receives a message about a mysterious case in Three Pines, he is compelled to investigate - a woman who was once one of the most famous people in the world has vanished.
A deadly conclusion. As he begins to shed light on the investigation, he is drawn into a web of murder, lies, and unimaginable corruption at the heart of the city. Facing his most challenging, and personal, case to date, can Gamache save the reputation of the Sûreté, those he holds dear and himself?
Evocative, gripping and atmospheric, this magnificent work of crime fiction from international best-selling author Louise Penny will stay with you long after you turn the final page.


What the Critics Say

"Clever, full of twists and turns, a wonderfully satisfying -- and moving -- addition to Penny's atmospheric, distinctive series" (Kate Mosse)
"Penny's elegant style is deeply satisfying, while Gamache is contemplative even when under pressure, and remains a man you want to spend time with" ( Metro)
"Louise Penny twists and turns the plot expertly tripping the reader up just at the moment you think you might have solved the mystery" ( Daily Express)
"Another bravura performance from an author who has reinvented the village mystery as profoundly as Dashiell Hammett transformed the detective novel" ( Booklist)
"With skilful plotting and gift for creating atmosphere, Penny weaves a dark and suspenseful tale of deadly secrets, professional machinations and surprising twists" ( Good Book Guide)
"Subtle, elegant and beautifully written" ( Sunday Mirror)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fabulous Addition to a Wonderful Series.

Usually series do not improve with each book but this one does. When I read the first book, Still Life, I was unsure if I would continue with the series. Of course, now I am so pleased that I did. The stories keep getting better, as with each book we learn more of our main characters and the mysteries in each book are also good.
If you have read the previous eight books you will not need any recommendation to grab this book. If you haven't yet read any of this series, I strongly recommend that you start at the first book, as each book builds on the relationships between Gamache and his team members.
Thank you Louise Penny for giving us another wonderful book in this fabulous series.
Read full review

- Mari

Well constructed story

I could not stop listening to this story, it's 5AM and I'm still up. Louise Penny is a wonderful story teller and the series has been a joy to explore.
Read full review

- Madfish

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-11-2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK