Everyone Lies : DI Kate Simms

  • by A. D. Garrett
  • Narrated by Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Series: DI Kate Simms
  • 13 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Everyone Lies by A. D. Garrett, DCI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have, and she's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since.
Professor Nick Fennimore is a successful gambler, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and onetime scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.
In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead, and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies, and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten beyond identification. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; everyone lies; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.
A. D. Garrett is the pseudonym for the writing collaboration of prize-winning thriller writer Margaret Murphy and forensic scientist Professor Dave Barclay. Margaret Murphy is the author of nine psychological thrillers. She lectures on writing and is a former Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow. Professor Barclay is a world-renowned forensics expert and senior lecturer in forensic science at Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen. Everyone Lies is their first collaboration.

More

What the Critics Say

"A pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics.... Simms and Fennimore are complex, compelling, and just plain marvelous." (Jeffery Deaver)
"This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate." (Ann Cleeves)
"Awesome.... What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut." (Mo Hayder)
"Brilliantly melds a deep knowledge of forensic procedures with a riveting story. The subtle twists in Everyone Lies kept me guessing until the end. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell are going to love this book!" (D. J. McIntosh, best-selling author of The Witch of Babylon)
"Outstanding.... Garrett balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-11-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios