Publisher's Summary

Bodily Harm opens with a big win for Sloane and his new partner, Tom Pendergrass, in a medical malpractice case centered on the death of a child. But on the heels of this seeming victory, an unlikely character – toy designer Kyle Horgan – comes forward to tell Sloane that he’s gotten it all wrong. Horgan’s the one who’s truly responsible for the little boy’s death and others – not the pediatrician Sloane has just proven guilty.
Ordinarily, Sloane might have dismissed such a person as a crackpot, but something about this case has troubled him from the start - something he couldn’t quite pinpoint. When Sloane tries to follow up with Horgan, he finds the man’s apartment a shambles - ransacked by unknown perpetrators. Horgan has vanished - seemingly without a trace. Together with longtime investigative partner Charles Jenkins, Sloane reexamines his client’s son’s death and digs deeper into Horgan’s claims, forcing him to enter the billion-dollar, cutthroat toy world. As Sloane gets closer to the truth, he trips a wire that leads to a shocking chain of events that nearly destroys him and takes from Sloane more than he ever thought he could possibly lose.
To get to the bottom of it all and find justice for the families’ harmed, Sloane must keep in check his overwhelming desire for revenge. Full of nail-bitingly tense action scenes as well as edge-of-your-seat courtroom drama, Bodily Harm finds Robert Dugoni at the very top of his game.
©2010 Robert Dugoni (P)2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $30.74

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $30.74

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Maura on 13-06-2017

A real page turner!

David Sloane's a compelling character amongst a string of believable roles. GreAt series. Am hooked downloading next book. !

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By maree McIntyre on 22-07-2016

Slow to start

The story seemed quite slow at the beginning, i struggled to get interested in the story at first, but i am glad. I continued listening as i did enjoy the book. Looking forward to the next in the series.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 09-09-2017

Best novel in a great series!

Bodily Harm is Book 3 in the 5 novel David Sloane series by Robert Dugoni. It is also the only one that I had not listened to. It is an outstanding 5 star legal thriller. Dan John Miller's narration is also very well done.

For those fans of the mystery/thriller genre, if you have no listened to any of Robert Dugoni's 13 mystery/thriller audio novels you are missing the work of one of the most talented and most consistent authors of the genre. Everyone of those novels is wonderful.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Lia on 28-02-2017

Great Legal Thriller

This is the third installment of Robert Dugoni's series featuring David Sloane, a Seattle attorney, who has a reputation for never losing a civil case.

When we last read about David, he had finally found the love of his life and was about to adopt her 13 year old son, Jake. They lived in a great house and life was good, and it looked like it would get even better.

As the book opens, David is about to go into the courtroom to hear the verdict of his current medical malpractice case against a pediatrician that he believed to be responsible for the unnecessary death of a six year old. Before David can open the doors, a young man comes up to him and tells him that the doctor was NOT the reason the child died.

This seemingly delusional information caused David some discomfort, and yet he had to continue to the end of this case, despite his misgivings, and ended up with a favorable verdict.

The thing that blows this whole thing up in the water for David is that he finds out that another child died with the same symptoms, and David chooses to investigate matters further.

Enter Kendall Toys. A toy mfg that has been around for almost 100 years, and unbeknownst to the general public and Board, has turned to China to manufacture the next great toy since Elmo. The lengths to which the owners cover up potentially damaging information is beyond belief. And yet, David keeps pursuing them, to find out the truth about this children's deaths, and to prevent any future harm to innocent children.

This story is a bit short on the trademark courtroom scenes that I have come to like about Dugoni's stories, and some of the action and characters are a bit too cliched. There are some very powerful and emotional parts to the story that make up for some of this, but not all. Dugoni's portrayal of Sloane's pursuit of the villains is a bit silly and he knocks off characters as if they were cut-outs in a shooting gallery.

I did enjoy the fictional inside workings of a toy mfg and got a bit creeped out thinking about all the recent recalls for the toys that were made in China. Like most of us, I have children and grandchildren and can't even keep up with all the latest recalls.

Dan John Miller was very good with the delivery of the story

Read More Hide me

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews