Over Sea, Under Stone : The Dark is Rising

  • by Susan Cooper
  • Narrated by Alex Jennings
  • Series: The Dark is Rising
  • 7 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that: it is the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril.


What the Critics Say

"Jennings' ability is outstanding as he slips in and out of the numerous voices with the rapid dialogue as it approaches the climax....This is an outstanding reading of a classic tale that all young listeners and adults will thoroughly enjoy." (School Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story - but where is no. 2 in the sequence??

If you could sum up Over Sea, Under Stone in three words, what would they be?

Growing sense of menace

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed this first book of the series. It reminds me of Famous Five - but with delightfully sinister and magical elements. It really hooked me in and I eagerly searched for the second book in the series on Audible and found all the others in the sequence but not book no. 2 "The Dark is Rising".... Poo.

Read full review

- ES67

Great Children's Story

I was given this book for my 40th birthday so am ranking it a 3/5 as I prefer young adult or adult books. If you are a child or teenager then I suspect you will enjoy this story and narration!
Read full review

- Adam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-08-2007
  • Publisher: Listening Library