Publisher's Summary

In the small town of Morganville, vampires and humans lived in (relative) peace - until all the rules got rewritten when the evil vampire Bishop arrived, looking for the lost book of vampire secrets. He's kept a death grip on the town ever since. Now an underground resistance is brewing, and in order to contain it, Bishop must go to even greater lengths. He vows to obliterate the town and all its inhabitants - the living and the undead. Claire Danvers and her friends are the only ones who stand in his way. But even if they defeat Bishop, will the vampires ever be content to go back to the old rules, after having had a taste of power?
©2009 Roxanne Longstreet Conrad (P)2014 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: $29.36

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
Select or add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.36

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Cynthia on 04-06-2015

Very exciting the best book in the series so far.

This book i couldn't put it down. I just love the imagination of Rachel Caine.
It was full of twist and turns, i didn't realise how many people are bad. This series is a must read.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By M. Paddon on 08-12-2014

Main character just gets dumber every book.

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Overall yes it is an okay book. But the plot is so transparent it is very annoying that the characters seem to not be able to solve a darn thing.

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

I would have changed Claire massively. She is supposed to be a genius, and quite frankly she gets even more stupid with each book. I have a high IQ myself, but even an idiot would see some of the things that happen during the plot, but that Claire cannot see at all apparently.

There are countless occasions in this book, and in all the previous ones. It seems that Claire can only be bright in the classroom and becomes as dumb as a pile of rocks anywhere else. The final scene in this book is by far the worst though that I've seen so far. I won't say what it was in case people read it, but honestly you would have to have a lobotomy to walk into the situation she gets herself into at the end of the book.

Another example would be the ghost in the book. It took me one second (literally) to work out who that was, and she didn't have a clue till it told her. And the same with the fight at the end of the book. How she did not know what was going on with Sam I don't know. I worked out their plan before the fight, and she still didn't know what was going on after it was over.

In short it is terrible of the author to make a smart character and then utterly fail to have that character use their brain ever. And I do mean ever, as she never uses her brain to solve anything in these books. The amount of times you'll hear the narrator whining out, "What?", "How?" and other similar questions from, Claire, to frankly transparent situations is ridiculous.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I won't say a scene I most enjoyed as that is giving spoilers. I did enjoy several and it's only the fact the characters can't seem to see to see utterly obvious things that make me down rate my star ratings on the books. I love some of the characters and some of the humour in it.

If this book were a film would you go see it?

Maybe if I was really bored and they made Claire less stupid in the movie.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews