The Long Tail

  • by Chris Anderson
  • Narrated by Christopher Nissley
  • 8 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Click here to watch the video promo for The Long Tail. What happens when there is almost unlimited choice? When everything becomes available to everyone? And when the combined value of the millions of items that only sell in small quantities equals or even exceeds the value of a handful of best sellers? In this groundbreaking audiobook, Chris Anderson shows that the future of business does not lie in hits ¿ the high-volume end of a traditional demand curve ¿ but in what used to be regarded as misses: the endlessly long tail of that same curve. As our world is transformed by the Internet and the near infinite choice it offers consumers, so traditional business models are being overturned and new truths revealed about what consumers want and how they want to get it. Chris Anderson first explored the Long Tail in an article in Wired magazine that has become one of the most influential business essays of our time. Now he takes a closer look at the new economics of the Internet age, showing where business is going and exploring the huge opportunities that exist: for new producers, new e-tailers, and new tastemakers. He demonstrates how long-tail economics apply to industries ranging from the toy business to advertising to kitchen appliances. He sets down the rules for operating in a long-tail economy. And he provides a glimpse of a future that's already arriving. Unabridged and featuring a special conversation with the author.


What the Critics Say

"Anderson's insights with the long tail influence Google's strategic thinking in a profound way." (Eric Schmidt, CEO, Google)
"A terrifically impressive analysis. It captured the forces underlying this business perfectly." (Jeff Bezos, CEO, Amazon)
"Christopher Nissley's reading style fits the content; he's clipped and staccato, like Anderson's writing." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-10-2006
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks