Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

  • by Poe Ballantine
  • Narrated by Poe Ballantine
  • 7 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.
For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Review

This is a lovely memoir that is let down by the narration. The author/ narrator rushes through & speaks with little emotion. He seems to speak faster as the book progresses as though he’s keen to get it over and done with , which makes it difficult to stay focused on listening . This is a shame as it really is an interesting & well written piece.
If you can overlook that it’s worth a listen .
Read full review

- Monica

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-03-2014
  • Publisher: Hawthorne Books and Literary Arts