When the Eagle Hunts : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Roman series.
After a series of bloody battles, Camulodunum (modern-day Colchester) has fallen to the invading Roman army. The Emperor has returned to Rome, leaving the fearless Centurion Macro and his young Optio, Cato, to rest and regroup, along with the rest of the Second Legion.
As their leader, General Plautius, plans the next phase of their campaign, word arrives that the ship carrying his family to join him was wrecked in a storm off the south coast. His wife and children have fallen into the hands of a dark sect of Druids, who now demand the return of those of their brotherhood taken prisoner by the Romans. Unless their demands are met within one month, Plautius's family will be burned alive. Will Cato and Macro discover where the Druids are hiding their hostages? And can they find some way to rescue them before time runs out?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very informative and entertaining

What made the experience of listening to When the Eagle Hunts the most enjoyable?

I love this series because Simon Scarrow has done a marvelous job of weaving fiction and truth together. You get the best of both worlds, entertainment and you get to learn a lot about the inner workings of the Roman Empire, the Legions which furthered the Roman ideal and were the backbone of all power in Rome and of course some great characters that you can follow and really get to know more and more as the stories develop!

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me laugh, it made me a little anxious but all in all I was glad to have my eyes opened to the world of Ancient Rome that much further.

Read full review

- V. Christoforou

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-10-2013
  • Publisher: Headline Digital