When the Eagle Hunts : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome! When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very informative and entertaining

What made the experience of listening to When the Eagle Hunts the most enjoyable?

I love this series because Simon Scarrow has done a marvelous job of weaving fiction and truth together. You get the best of both worlds, entertainment and you get to learn a lot about the inner workings of the Roman Empire, the Legions which furthered the Roman ideal and were the backbone of all power in Rome and of course some great characters that you can follow and really get to know more and more as the stories develop!


Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me laugh, it made me a little anxious but all in all I was glad to have my eyes opened to the world of Ancient Rome that much further.


Read full review

- V. Christoforou

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-10-2013
  • Publisher: Headline Digital