Centurion : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Centurion, a no. 1 best-seller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagle's of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
In the first century AD the Roman Empire faces a new threat from its long-standing enemy Parthia. Parthia is vying with Rome for control of Palmyra, an officially neutral kingdom. Palmyra's royal household is on the brink of open revolt, and so a task force under the command of experienced soldiers Macro and Cato is dispatched to defend its king and guard its borders. When Parthia hears of the Roman army's presence, it starts amassing its troops for war.
Macro's cohort must march against the enemy, deep into treacherous territory. If Palmyra is not to fall into the clutches of Parthia, they will have to defeat superior numbers in a desperate siege. The quest for a lasting peace has never been more challenging, nor more critical for the future of the Empire.

More

What the Critics Say

"Simon Scarrow has developed a strong following... a former ancient history lecturer who knows his stuff, and brings the ancient world back to life with verve and plenty of action." (Brisbane News)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-06-2012
  • Publisher: Headline Digital